Home | Search | National Government

National Government

Toolkit Page

The Parliament consists of two houses: The National Assembly and The Senate as established under the Constitution of Kenya (COK) Article 93.

The National Assembly

The National Assembly together with the Senate constitute the Parliament as per the Constitution of Kenya (COK) 2010 Article 93. It has a total of 349 seats; comprising of 290 elected Members of Parliament representing the constituencies; and special interest representative including 47 women elected from the counties and 12 nominated representatives. The Speaker of the National Assembly leads the Assembly and is elected by the Members, but not from among them, and serves as an ex officio member.

The National Assembly exercises representative, legislative and oversight authority vested in it by Kenyan citizens as per the Constitution of Kenya (2010). It is responsible to protect the Constitution; and may consider and pass constitutional amendments and alter county boundaries. It is responsible to deliberate on, resolve and enact legislation on issues of national concern.

The National Assembly enacts legislation for the allocation of national revenue between the levels of government. It is responsible for the appropriation of funds for expenditure by national government and national state organs and exercises oversights over national revenue and its expenditure.

content url